one surgery down, 2 to go, Zoe, and no cider

Ahh it felt just like old times as the anaesthetist prepared me for surgery.

Since my major surgery for Cholangiocarcinoma in 2012, I have suffered with chronic pain in the area of my scar along my abdomen, a scar that runs about half way around my body. I have seen multiple health professionals over the years and have tended to be prescribed long term pain relief.

Last year during a bout of gastro problems the hospital gave me an mri and off-hand mentioned that I really should get my hernia repaired.

Fast forward about a year and here I am a few weeks after surgery and already in far less pain than I was before! But having also found out that although one hernia was fixed, the surgeon decided not to fix another because the tissue all along the scar inside is ‘fraying’ and he suspects I will need more major surgery at some point. Fun fun!

Next up is knee surgery. Last year while running I injured my knee, with no real apparent reason, about 8 miles into a half marathon training run (fully supported by a great running coach through WeRun). My left knee popped with pain, I carried on running to get home but the next day could barely get out of bed. Two physios and two surgical consultants later I am about to have another mri, this one on my knee, with possibly torn medial meniscus and damaged bone. So I shall look forward to that repair soon, which may well mean weeks on crutches.

Next up after that is the good old snip, let’s not talk about that just yet though!

I am hopeful that in the new year at some point I will be able to get back to running again, it is incredible how much I miss it, not least for the physical health benefits but also the mental health. Right now I can barely walk a km without being in a lot of pain from my knee.

On a positive note, I have stopped drinking cider and am taking part in the Zoe healthy eating program, since these 2 things started a few weeks ago, I have lost 9kg’s in weight and around 6 inches from my waist. Although the weight loss has now slowed, it is continuing to drop, so I’m really happy with that. If anyone asks, I’m happy to recommend the Zoe healthy eating programme, ask nice and I can share a 10% off code for friends!

Oh, and, I don’t even miss the cider.

Mostly 😉

Adam

One thought on “one surgery down, 2 to go, Zoe, and no cider”

  1. Always good to have a few future surgeries up your sleeve … horrible that you need them but may they all work wonderfully and get you back in the running shoes. Very impressive weight loss by the way.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.